Skip to content

Nitin Patel

Co-Founder and Research Lead, Cytel Innovation Center

Nitin Patel, a distinguished management scientist and Fellow of the American Statistical Association, co-founded Cytel in 1987 along with Cyrus Mehta. Cyrus and Nitin hoped to make modern methods in statistics and operations research accessible to clinical researchers by creating quality software for statistical analyses.

A widely respected expert in the development of fast and accurate computer algorithms for the implementation of computationally intensive statistical methods, Nitin has played a leading role in pioneering Cytel’s StatXact® and LogXact® software. These award winning software packages are popular tools for exact, nonparametric inference analysis.



Nitin has published over 75 articles in leading journals in statistics and the decision sciences. His research now engages with the development of new clinical trial modeling tools for improved decision-making at pharmaceutical and medical device companies. His pioneering work in innovative clinical development strategy ranges from drug supply planning in complex trials (e.g. adaptive clinical trials or multiarm studies), to determining accurate measurements of the net present value (eNPV) of a clinical program.


Nitin has been a Visiting Professor at the MIT Sloan School of Management. As a Research Associate with MIT’s Center for Biomedical Innovation (MIT CBI), Nitin has contributed to the CBI’s research program in New Drug Development Paradigms (CBI NEWDIGS). 

Earlier in his career, Nitin was a co-founder of Tata Consultancy Services, a multinational software consultancy based in India. He was also an active member of several societies for the advancement of scholarship in operations research, statistics and computer science.

Awards and Recognitions

  • Fellow of the American Statistical Association
  • Fellow of the India Computer Society
  • FDA CRADA Award for breakthroughs in Bayesian Statistic Dose-finding and computation methodology
  • Vikram Sarabhai Medal for Research in Systems Analysis (1985)
  • President of the Indian Operations Research Society
  • Vice President of the International Federation of Operational Research Societies
  • Recipient of the George W. Snedecor Award (ASA,1987) 

Contact Us

or leave feedback